Holy Trinity Church

About the Church

Why not come and see for yourself the many unique and fascinating features this jewel of Hull has to offer. Here are just a few to whet your appetite...

The Font

The beautifully carved coralloid marble medieval font dates from around 1380. MP for Hull and pioneering abolitionist of the slave trade William Wilberforce is one of many to have been baptised in it.

Windows

There are many outstanding examples of stained glass work throughout the church, the most famous being the two ‘arts and crafts' windows in the south side designed by Walter Crane, and perhaps uniquely a window in the south transept containing the remnants of glass from a window destroyed by a Zeppelin during the Great War.

Memorials, Plaques and Pictures

Holy Trinity is littered with interesting stones, plaques and memorials, some commissioned and inspected by those in question before they died! There is also a fine painting of The Last Supper by James Partmentier which features an unusual number of disciples...

The Organ

A rare and world renowned organ, the oldest parts are 18 th century and at 104 speaking stops, the instrument at Holy Trinity is the largest parish church organ in the Great Britain. It is unchanged since it was rebuilt by John Compton in 1937-38 though is now in need of restoration to retain its former glory. Only nineteen instruments were ever built with this style of console and only four remain.

This magnificent awe-inspiring building is over 700 years old and appears in the Guinness Book of Records as England's largest parish church (by area).

"HULL HOLY TRINITY, a parish in the county of Kingston upon Hull. The Church of the Holy Trinity is a stately and beautiful structure, consisting of a nave, chancel, and transepts, at the intersection of which rises an extremely fine tower, upon four lofty arches.

The period of its foundation is not recorded. It is however certain that in 1301, in the reign of Edward I a licence for a cemetery was granted by Archbishop Corbridge.

The present chancel and transepts reflects the architecture of this period, and, built of brick, may fairly claim to be the most ancient known brick building in England, since the time of the Romans.

The nave and tower are probably of the early part of the 15th century; the west front is hidden by a row of houses, built about fifty years ago; and the whole appearance of this noble structure is injured by the loss of all the pinnacles which crowned the buttresses on the north and south sides, which now present to the eye a naked line of flat coping, which contrasts to the pointed arch.

The south side of the chancel there has been several splendid chantries, now almost wholly destroyed, and converted into vestries and burial vaults. In repairing these vaults recently, a female statue, and an arch charged with figures and coats of arms linking to ancient armies were discovered.

The internal view of this church is striking. The pillars of the chancel are light and elegant, and the arches lofty. It contains many memorials of the dead, not a few of whose names and families have become wholly extinct. The most remarkable monuments are that of the Rev. Joseph Milner, M. A. by Bacon, and one, erroneously attributed to the De la Poles, representing a merchant and his wife in the costume of the 14th century. Divine service is performed, contrary to usual custom, in the nave, the chancel being entirely open. This church, as before stated, was originally only a Chapel of Ease to Hessle, from which it was separated by act of parliament, and made a vicarage, in 1661, under the patronage of the Corporation. It is the largest parochial church, in the country, and occupies an area of 20,056 square feet.

Image Gallery: mouse over the thumb nails below to see a larger image.





Powered by The H2 Company